In her book, Awakening the Heroes Within, Carol Pearson builds off the work of Jung and defines a growth model in terms of progression through three sets of archetypes:

  1. Preparation:
    • Innocent
    • Orphan
    • Warrior
    • Caregiver
  2. Journey:
    • Seeker
    • Destroyer
    • Lover
    • Caregiver
  3. Return:
    • Ruler
    • Magician
    • Sage
    • Fool

Developmentally, the concept is you iterate through each of the three major stages with a dominant archetype at each point.

So, for example, Jenni and I were stuck in caregiver and orphan for much of the end of our engagement. I slowly drifted further and further away from the normal world and she took care of me.

The return to graduate school represents a journey though it is still too early to really tell the direction.

Seeker perhaps as I try to rediscover what it means to be a functioning adult or maybe destroyer as I learn to readjust the tint of my rose colored glasses. Seeker and destroyer since I’ve not felt less like a lover in my adult life and my acts of creation tend to be stillborn.

As for return, I’ve got no clue. That point sits on the other side of at least three months of facing unpleasant consequences. I am just hoping to arrive at something resembling normal — quirky but stable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *